Inspiration and the Issue of RP.

Welcome to my new blog. I’ve been thinking about starting an ELT blog for some months now. Last year I fell into blogworld while indulging my love of craft. I discovered you can learn so much and be so inspired by seeing what other people are creating.

It was a brief conversation with Jemma of Unplugged Reflections in November that opened my eyes to so many fellow teachers who are blogging, tweeting, sharing and making sense of their everyday teaching.

As I have recently finished the Delta my mind is full of teacher journals, peer observations, reflective teaching and general ongoing personal development plans. How did I miss the rich resource that you ELT bloggers are creating? Inspiration indeed.

But where to start?

So far I’ve been lurking passively, adding a comment here or there, building up to the day when I would be ready to sit down and start participating, contributing and perhaps, giving something back.

So here we are in a big virtual staffroom. Please bear with me while I find my voice.

Can I contribute anything today?

Well maybe I will start small and just send you over to a very nice post on a craft blog that I read this morning. Huh? Just go and see, sometimes inspiration for teaching hits you in very unexpected places.

Let me know what you think about the video you find there.

Is that a sample of the seemingly elusive RP, also known as Queen’s English or BBC English? (See Thornbury 2006:192).

Growing up in West London I believed that I spoke with RP, but was told otherwise by my tutor during Delta Mod 2!

So I wonder:

  • Does RP exist anymore (and does it even matter)?
  • Is it something elitist that belongs firmly in the past?
  •  Or is it still a useful standard in teaching, material design etc?

I’m going to have a little think about it, maybe you would like to join me? I would love to see your comments on the matter!

Oh, and one more thing, where do you go to get inspired?

Ref: Thornbury, S. 2006. An A-Z of ELT, Macmillan.

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspiration and the Issue of RP.

  1. Thanks for your comments, and welcome to the world of blogging. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

